The Bookwyrm Report – vol. 5

I haven’t given a book update in a while and I thought I would give a quick check-in. Summer has been less of a reading-intensive break than a writing-intensive time, so I haven’t read as much as I was expecting. Still, I picked up some new books recently and plan to keep on reading!

Yearly Goal – I did end up increasing my goal. I had promised myself that if I reached 25 out of 35 books before June I would increase. No sense in having a goal without a challenge, right? So now my goal is 40 books. I decided to only increase by five until I see how my first semester of college goes. I can always increase again if I need to! So far I’ve read 27 books this year.

51ld41xmnrl-_sx331_bo1204203200_41afund9lhl-_sx355_bo1204203200_Finished: The Final Empire and Everything and Nothing – So this pairing reflects my rereading pattern for this summer. I had read the first of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series about a year ago, but when I was searching for a new audiobook to listen to, my mom pointed me in that direction. Rereading has certainly been interesting. I found, for instance, that I liked Kelsier a lot more. I never disliked him, but having read the other books in the trilogy I had a greater emotional attachment. Sanderson’s skill with foreshadowing and hidden clues continues to astound me, especially since the first time I read The Final Empire I was not familiar with the interconnectedness of his books in the Cosmere. Parts of Everything and Nothing by Jorge Luis Borges were also familiar. I read several of the short stories while in a World Literature class at Brown University’s summer program for high school students last year. While I definitely had to pay attention to understand some of his pieces, Borges has an incredible talent for description and I enjoy his style.

51wap-f39ql-_sx318_bo1204203200_51yywhhbijl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Currently Reading: Make Your Home Among Strangers and Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife – Make Your Home Among Strangers is Elon University’s freshman reader, a required reading for everyone entering during the fall of 2017. I started the book with a little over a month left to read so I could read it ahead of going to Elon without finishing so early that I don’t remember anything. I can tell this story about the daughter of Cuban immigrants stepping into the world of college will be a great source of discussion material; however, I often find myself frustrated by either the main character’s actions or the minor characters’ reactions. Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife is a sequel to Pride and Prejudice written by Linda Berdoll. I have only just started this book, but it seems to be well-written and paced well. Both books make use of a non-linear timeline to present events, and do it extremely well, which has given me ideas to use during the revision process for my latest writing project.

51rnr7rnkkl-_sx303_bo1204203200_To-Read: Old Man’s War – This science fiction novel by John Scalzi intrigued me, due to the fact that the protagonist is a seventy-five year old man. This protagonist signs up to fight with the interstellar forces trying to capture planets. Mayhem ensues. I’ve heard great things about John Scalzi’s work, and as a Hugo Award-winning author, I have high hopes for the first of his series.

 

All image credit to Amazon.com

One thought on “The Bookwyrm Report – vol. 5

Leave a Reply

