Graduation!

Tomorrow is my official day of graduation! It feels a little unreal to have reached this point after what seems like such a long time. I’ve enjoyed every minute of my home school journey, and look forward to the opportunities college will bring. This post will include some musings on my home schooling experience and such.

My writing could not have blossomed so much without the benefit of home schooling. I’ve probably mentioned this before, but it’s worth saying again. And again. Having the flexibility to schedule time to write each day has been such an advantage. I’ve also been given the tools to research and explore tangential topics which are always beneficial for prospective authors.

I’ve always loved to learn, but home schooling has pushed me to always do my best. I will enter college in the Fall with a good idea of how to budget my time and how to manage my workload. The classes I’ve taken over the past two years at Barton College have aided in preparing me for the college classroom, perhaps even more so than a traditional high school education might have. While only a handful of these classes will be transferring to Elon as actual credits, I will still be entering with a strong foundation.

Some things are inherently different with home school. I won’t be graduating as part of a class, I didn’t have a prom (honestly, not really my thing), and I wasn’t in as many student organizations as most high school students. However I still have my college graduation to look forward to, and it will be all the more special to walk across a stage in a cap and gown with people I’ve grown close to over four years. Often college is an opportunity to choose where you will go and with whom you will grow; public high school attendance is more often determined by geography. As far as student organizations are concerned, I do wish I had reached out to some of the home school clubs and groups in our area since it probably would have helped to round out my college applications even more. Looking back, it’s hard to imagine how that would have impacted an already busy schedule, but it might have been nice to have a few more lines on my resume. Don’t worry, I plan to make up for lost time at Elon!

Home schooling took me, a child who loved creativity and all areas of learning, and helped me flourish. I can’t thank my parents enough for all of the effort they have put in over the years to make it happen. I can say that my high school experience was unique, formative, and inspiring. I know my education thus far has laid a good foundation for my future. I can’t wait to see where it takes me.

2 thoughts on “Graduation!

  1. I was homeschooled for one year and I loved it. The flexibility really was amazing. We were able to get up and work out every morning and then do school work in the afternoon and my sister and I were able to grow even closer than we were. Learning at your own pace through home schooling is one of the biggest benefits of it. I admire moms that are able to stay home and home school their kids. I only wish I could do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Staying at home really does help, but for many years both of my parents worked. It was tough, but luckily we were able to spend some time in the computer lab/spare office at the college where my dad works for our independent work, and then he would do our school work at home. Now my mom has a more flexible job and she can do more one-on-one work with my brother than I needed. It’s been great to adapt to our different learning styles!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

