The Bookwyrm Report – vol. 4

It’s that time again! My reading pace did slow down a bit towards the end of the school year, but I still made some good progress on my goal and plan to continue readings ome interesting works.

Yearly Goal – So far, I’ve read 21 books in 2017. I just need to read 14 more books to reach my yearly 35 book goal. We’ll see if I need to raise my goal. I don’t want to raise it too much since I’ll be starting college in the fall and having to adjust to a new lifestyle.

51xpcczsn2l-_sy346_512bhkmgj53l-_sx304_bo1204203200_Finished: Snapshot and The Three Musketeers – Though I think Brandon Sanderson’s skill shines in his longer work, his shorter pieces like Snapshot are often just as intriguing. This story ended with a classic Sanderson twist, and I highly recommend it. In my last Bookwyrm Report I had just started The Three Musketeers, and since I haven’t had a major craft project recently my audiobook reading has been a little slower. I was surprised that so much of the material of modern movies and television shows takes place in the first part of the book, and felt that the rest of the story dragged a bit. Of course it was written for a different audience, and I’m glad I read (listened, if I want to be specific) it. I just don’t think it will be on my list to re-read any time soon.

51hfhqkl61l-_sx329_bo1204203200_51-de8jtm6l-_sy346_Current: The Shadow of What was Lost and Bleak House – I got a copy of James Islington’s The Shadow of What was Lost as a giveaway for people who bought three day passes for JordanCon. It’s a large book, which is nice after reading a lot of shorter works over the past few months. I’m about halfway through this first installment of the Licanius Trilogy. The story is good, and I’m interested to see what happens to certain characters. On a completely aesthetic note, I love the cover art! However, I don’t think this will become one of my favorite books. Bleak House is my attempt to broaden my Charles Dickens repertoire, and my current audiobook. I’m only one chapter in so far, but I have high hopes for Dickens’ smart-aleck sense of humor and talent for storytelling.

51yywhhbijl-_sx331_bo1204203200_To Read: Make Your Home Among Strangers – Okay, I’m cheating on this one. This book is actually Elon’s summer reader for 2017. This book by Jeanine Capo Crucet focuses on the daughter of Cuban immigrants who is the first in her family to graduate from high school and attend college. The story examines the main characters’ struggles with her family, adjusting to college life, and dealing with the ups and downs of the political environment. I’m looking forward to reading this book to prepare for the start of my own college career in the fall.

Leave a Reply

