The Bookwyrm Report – Vol. 3

Hello again! I can’t believe it’s almost the end of March already. The first quarter of the year was full of new books and some fantastic progress on my yearly goal.

Yearly Goal – I’m already at 16 out of 35 books! Making much better progress than last year, where I just got in all 35 on December 31. Since this year is going so well, I decided that if I reach 20 books before June (which seems likely), I’ll bump up my goal to 45 books. Who doesn’t like a bit of a challenge?

51zkvkpc34l-_sx350_bo1204203200_51khufn2bffl-_sx330_bo1204203200_Finished: The Wind’s Twelve Quarters and Calamity – Ursula K. Le Guin was on my reading list for quite a while, and I’ve been able to explore a few of her books. The Wind’s Twelve Quarters also fits my goal of reading more short stories. The collection is more of a retrospective, as Le Guin points out in the introduction. As a result, I feel like I’ve gotten a good taste of her style and types of writing. I enjoyed the book, and several of the stories really prompted me to think. I would definitely suggest it for when you can sit down for a fair amount of time and read each short story in its entirety. I had been waiting to read Calamity by Brandon Sanderson and complete the Reckoners trilogy for a while, and it did not dissapoint. One of my favorite things about a Brandon Sanderson series is that I almost always can rest assured that I will get a satisfactory ending.

512bhkmgj53l-_sx304_bo1204203200_51hgwyjwo2l-_sx308_bo1204203200_Current: The Illustrated Man and The Three Musketeers As I mentioned above, I’m trying to read more short stories. Ray Bradbury’s The Illustrated Man was one of the suggestions I received when I started this journey, so I decided to give it a try! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find a picture with the cover like the one I purchased from Barnes and Noble, but it’s an interesting cover to go with what promises to be an interesting collection of stories. The first three stories were intriguing and exquisitely well-written, I’m looking forward to the rest of the book. I’ve also been meaning to read The Three Musketeers for quite some time. I love the story with its various movie and television adaptations, but I haven’t read the source material previously. I’m listening to the free audiobook while I work on my craft projects.

51nwvn-wm6l-_sx323_bo1204203200_To Read: Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood is another author who has been on my to-read list for a long time. After reading several synopses of her works, Oryx and Crake stuck out. I’m not even sure if I can nail down the reason why, but the hint of thought-provoking science fiction made me place this work on my “To Read” list.

 

Image Credit to Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

