Adventures I Haven’t Had Yet

There is a strange kind of joy in putting together lists of places to go and experiences to have. This week I’ve decided to share some of my bucketlist items, which range from mundane and practical to outlandish and fantastic.

Parahawking in Nepal – I first found out about parahawking through social media. Basically, you are paragliding with a trained person, over mountains, with a trained bird of prey. Gliders follow the birds of prey to thermal air currents, staying aloft for an extended period of time. In return, the birds get treats. You can find out more on their official website.

Read Every Jane Austen Novel – I’ve made a dent in this one so far. Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Sense and Sensibility are already crossed off my list.

Visit the World’s Oldest Operating Hotel – Again, I found out about this adventure on social media. Hoshi Ryokan has been operating since the eighth century. Their website is a little difficult to navigate unless you can read Japanese, but you can see a partial video tour of the hotel here.

Become fluent in another language – I’m open to exploring language options, though two years of French has started me in the right direction.

Ride horses in Iceland – Icelandic horses are extremely pure breeds, which explains why their attributes have remained consistent throughout the centuries. Most horse breeds have three “natural gaits,” including the walk, trot, and canter. An Icelandic horse also naturally has the tölt and the flying pace gaits, making them unique among horses worldwide. You can find a more in-depth explanation here.

See a Shakespeare Play in Person – It’s one thing to read the plays, but another to see them in person. As a potential English Major, I feel it is my duty to pay homage to one of the greatest bodies of work in literary history.

Ride in a hot air balloon – The only thing I wouldn’t look forward to here is the noise. But the idea of floating over a picturesque landscape sure is appealing.

Fandom Tour of England – Sherlock and Jane Austen and Harry Potter oh my!

As my bucketlist grows and I check things off my list, I’ll continue to keep track of my progress here on my blog.

3 thoughts on “Adventures I Haven’t Had Yet

  1. That’s an awesome adventures list!
    About the fandom tour – such a great idea. I’ve been to 221B Baker St, Platform 9 3/4, the Dr Who store (with a TARDIS!), and the locations of Neverwhere but there are always more places and fandoms to find.

    The Icelandic horses sound amazing! I grew up riding and horse crazy and I’m kind of ashamed of myself that I never knew about their 5 natural gaits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 221B and Platform 9 3/4 are definitely on my list, and though I haven’t watched a lot of Dr. Who, just Harry Potter and Sherlock Holmes alone could furnish entire trips.
      Icelandic horses really are fascinating! The website I have linked in the article has lots of neat information and a more in-depth explanation of the different gaits.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read the article you linked – so interesting! Riding a Lippizaner has always been on my wish list, and going to Iceland has been, too, so I think I’m adding riding Icelandic horses. 😛
        (Marivea, btw.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

