The Bookwyrm Report – Vol. 2

It’s 2017, which means new resolutions, new goals, and new books!

Yearly Goal: Last year I completed my 35 book goal! I just barely got that last one under the wire, but I’m glad to report that last year’s goal was a success. I’m going to try again for 35 books this year, because between trigonometry and organic chemistry this spring and starting college in the fall, I’m not sure if I could reasonably expect much more. So far I’ve finished three books in 2017. If it looks like I’m coming up on my goal too quickly for it to be a challenge, I can always bump it up later in the year.

51tbrjcmw9l-_sx332_bo1204203200_51sefkd7aal-_sx331_bo1204203200_Finished: Without a Summer and I am Not a Serial Killer – My post-holiday reading took on a bit of a “Writing Excuses” team, as both of my most recently finished books show. I had heard Mary Robinette Kowal and Dan Wells discuss the Glamourist Histories and I am Not a Serial Killer on the podcast before, so I did have a few spoilers beforehand. Regardless, I enjoyed both novels for completely different reasons. As I pointed out in my first Bookwyrm Report, I am a long-term fan of Jane Austen. I believe this appreciation informed my enjoyment of Without a Summer, the third book in the Glamourist Histories series. Mary Robinette Kowal blends an Austen setting and style seamlessly with the magic of her world. The magic system is one of my favorite aspects of the books, as it breathes new life into the genre and is woven so softly into the story that I am completely and repeatedly drawn in. I am Not a Serial Killer, on the other hand, was a rollercoaster ride. I read the book in two days, mostly because the thriller pacing and character’s downward spiral grabbed me and wouldn’t let go. In general, I’m not a huge fan of thrillers or supernatural novels, but I enjoyed Dan Wells’ mastery of both style and character.

51gnqshmrql-_sx398_bo1204203200_C51eqdkyvvgl-_sx332_bo1204203200_urrent: Valour and Vanity and Eight Cousins I broke down and bought the final two books in the Glamourist histories series. I thought about branching out into some of Kowal’s other books like Ghost Talkers, but I couldn’t bring myself to leave these characters behind just yet. While I have an inkling about the plot of Valour and Vanity from Writing Excuses episodes, I have very little prior knowledge of Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott. I discovered the title while browsing Goodreads, and decided to download the audiobook. I have not made much progress yet, but I have high hopes for the story.

619fkocyg7l-_sx332_bo1204203200_To-Read: The Invisible Library – Libraries and spies, enough said. A suggestion on Goodreads actually drew me to Genevieve Cogman’s The Invisible Library series through the third book, The Burning Page. Magic, libraries, adventure, and dangerous quests after manuscripts, this book sound like it’s a fun ride.

 

All image credit to Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

