Writing Resources (part 2)

Welcome to the second part of my collection of writing resources. The first post of this two-part series has more resources that have come in handy for me over the years. There are just the two posts in the series for now, but as I move forward I might continue to add to my personal favorites list. Do you have a favorite writing resource, or have a particular writing book that changed the way you approached writing? Feel free to share and discuss in the comments.

519ccvw9fil-_sy346_
Image Credit: amazon.com

2k to 10k: Writing Faster, Writing Better, and Writing More of What You Love (Ebook) – This ebook has plenty of tips and tricks to being a more prolific writer. Now, what I found looking back over this book and the effect it had on my writing, I think it is important to note that the author was already writing 2,000 words a day. The author could sit down and dedicate hours at a time to their writing. That’s fantastic, but as a beginner writer in the middle of high school, I couldn’t begin to match their output. Not to say I didn’t gain anything from this book. If I hadn’t, I wouldn’t be sharing it. 2k to 10k affected me in one major way: I recorded all of my writing activity for an entire year. Perhaps I’ll write a full post about the process at some point. Regardless, the book does have some good tips for increasing focus and productivity, but keep in mind you might not necessarily see the 80% increase.

Brandon Sanderson Writing Lectures (Youtube) – This series of 12 Youtube videos follow Brandon Sanderson’s creative writing class at Brigham Young University. They are the actual length of the class, so each video is about an hour long each. Sanderson is a wonderful teacher who encourages students (and viewers) to be the type of writer they want to be, but he gives some ideas to work with until we find out exactly what that means for us. So far I have watched about half of the videos. Unfortunately, because of the length, I haven’t had time to watch more recently. This is definitely a resource you want to keep a notebook handy for, and the class has already given me new tools to use when approaching my work in progress.

Writing the Other (Book & Workshops) – In my earlier post, I talked about the podcast Writing Excuses. I found out about the Writing the Other master classes through the podcast, specifically through podcaster Marie Robinette Kowal’s recommendation. Unfortunately, I could not afford to attend every workshop provided, but I was granted the Sentient Squid Scholarship to attend the workshop on Writing Deaf and Blind Characters. The workshops are geared towards writers who want to “write the other,” that is, write characters with attributes the writer does not possess themselves. Diversity is essential when creating a cast of realistic, vibrant characters, but a writer must be well informed when stepping outside of their own experiences and perspectives. The workshop I attended had an instructor who was partially deaf and blind, and she was able to answer attendees’ questions, give valuable information, and advise against common pitfalls. Other workshops through Writing the Other on a variety of topics are similarly well-reviewed, and the accompanying book talks about the importance of diversity in fiction and gives information on some of the topics covered in the workshops.

Leave a Reply

